You are here:

Section 48 inspections: guidance

Ref: 5097
Last updated on 12 January 2017
School types: All · School phases: All
In-depth article
Is there advice for governors on section 48 inspections? Schools with a religious character must receive a section 48 inspection. We link to guidance for Church of England, Catholic, Jewish and Muslim schools.

Article tools


  1. 1 What is a section 48 inspection?
  2. 2 Section 48 inspections: Church of England guidance on SIAMS
  3. 3 Section 48 inspections: guidance from a Catholic diocese
  4. 4 Section 48 inspections: guidance for Jewish schools
  5. 5 Section 48 inspections in Muslim schools

Article features

  • 8 external links

More from The Key

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.