Key Stage 1 assessments: statutory requirements

Understand how pupils are assessed at Key Stage 1 (KS1) with guidance on what tests pupils take and how they're scored.

Last reviewed on 11 November 2022
See updates
School types: Maintained, Academy · School phases: Primary
Ref: 3535
  1. Who do these requirements apply to?
  2. Phonics screening check
  3. National Curriculum test (SATs)
  4. End-of-KS1 teacher assessment (TA)
  5. Assessment for pupils working below the National Curriculum

Who do these requirements apply to?

The KS1 Assessment and Reporting Arrangements (ARA) is statutory for maintained schools (including special schools). If you're in an academy, your school might need to follow the ARA if this is set out in your funding agreement. 

Independent schools can choose to take part in the assessments. If your school does, it must follow the ARA. 

Non-maintained special schools can also choose take part in the assessments. If your school does, it should follow the ARA.

For more detail and information about other school types, see section 13.1 of the statutory guidance (pages 43 to 45).

Phonics screening check

Reached the age of 6 by the end of the academic year, and completed the first year of the KS1 English programme of study Reached the age of 7 by the end of the academic year, and didn't meet the