Key Stage 1 assessments: requirements

Understand how pupils are assessed at Key Stage (KS) 1, including what tests pupils can and should take, and how they're marked.

Last reviewed on 27 March 2024See updates
School types: Maintained, AcademySchool phases: PrimaryRef: 3535
  1. Phonics screening check
  2. National Curriculum tests (also known as SATs)
  3. End of KS1 non-statutory teacher assessment (TA)
  4. Reporting to parents/carers

Phonics screening check

All pupils should take the check in June 2024 if they have:

  • Reached the age of 6 by the end of the academic year and completed the first year of the KS1 English programme of study
  • Reached the age of 7 by the end of the academic year and didn't meet the expected standard in the June 2023 check or haven't taken the check before

Your headteacher will make the final decision about whether it's appropriate for a pupil to take the check. 

This is explained in section 5.2 of the 2024 assessment and reporting arrangements (phonics screening check) 

Who do the requirements apply to?

  • Maintained schools
  • Academies (including free schools)
  • Special schools (including maintained special schools and special academies)
  • Alternative provision (AP) settings including pupil referral units (PRUs)
  • Independent schools that have chosen to participate in the KS1 assessments

KS1 assessments are no longer statutory. There

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.