You are here:

Last updated on 5 December 2017
Ref: 4129
School types: All · School phases: All

What are the eligibility rules for the different types of governor? We explain who is eligible to be a parent, staff, local authority, co-opted, foundation and partnership governor. We also link to a further article on being disqualified from holding office as a governor.

Article tools


  1. Parent governors
  2. Staff governors
  3. Local authority governors 
  4. Co-opted governors
  5. Foundation governors
  6. Partnership governors

More from The Key

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.