You are here:

The chair's casting vote

Ref: 5188
Last updated on 5 August 2016
School types: All · School phases: All
In-depth article
If the chair does not cast an initial vote, does he or she still have a casting vote? We look at the rules on the chair's casting vote. We also relay advice from the DfE on whether the chair's casting vote has to be his or her second or additional vote, and whether the chair can vote as he or she wishes.

Article tools

Want to read more?

To read this article in full, sign up for a free trial of The Key.

Membership starts from £1.10 per day and includes an unlimited number of logins for all of your governing body. If you join today, we'll also waive the £100 joining fee.

Membership gives school governors access to:

  • More than a thousand online articles, with information and resources to help governors get to grips with their role
  • Policy bank from schools and other organisations
  • Downloadable template forms and reports, and planners
  • Our unlimited 'Ask the expert' service
  • Pre-inspection resources, including questions that inspectors may ask
  • A weekly News Briefing

Contents

  1. 1 The chair has a casting vote when there is a tie
  2. 2 Does the chair have a casting vote if he or she did not vote the first time?
  3. 3 Are there rules on how the chair can use the casting vote?

Article features

  • 5 external links

The Key has taken great care in publishing this article. However, some of the article's content and information may come from or link to third party sources whose quality, relevance, accuracy, completeness, currency and reliability we do not guarantee. Accordingly, we will not be held liable for any use of or reliance placed on this article's content or the links or downloads it provides. This article may contain information sourced from public sector bodies and licensed under the Open Government Licence.