Pupil premium: eligible pupils

Learn which categories of pupils are eligible for pupil premium funding and find out more about each category. These include 'ever 6 FSM', 'looked-after children' and 'service children'.

Last reviewed on 25 April 2023
See updates
School types: All · School phases: All
Ref: 4366
  1. Per-pupil funding rates for eligible groups
  2. Ever 6 FSM
  3. Looked-after children (LAC)
  4. Previously LAC
  5. Service children

Per-pupil funding rates for eligible groups

5 categories of pupils are eligible for pupil premium funding, at the following rates:

*As well as disadvantaged pupils, the pupil premium is used to support pupils with parents in the regular armed forces. Service children aren't considered to be disadvantaged pupils for the purposes of the pupil premium grant, so your school shouldn't track them as part of this group. Instead, your school